About me

I had the pleasure to visit the Shakespeare and Company bookshop near Notre Dame in Paris. I hold a copy of the hunchback of Notre dame in my hands as a souvenir.

I was born in 1991 as the son of a Swiss-Peruvian theologian and a Peruvian administrative assistant in Lima-Peru. I went to a Swiss school until I was 9 years old when my family decided to move to Switzerland in 2001. I grew up with my older brother Hans, who is a computer science engineer and is currently working for Varian.

I graduated in 2019 in biological chemistry at ETH Z├╝rich with an interest in supramolecular chemistry, biological chemistry, NMR, and Nanotechnology. I love chemistry and materials but what tickles my passion is the tackling of biological issues with all sorts of scientific tools.

I am a committed Christian who enjoys spending time dwelling on the bible and philosophical topics about God and society. I like to dive into difficult ideas and ruminate on them until I find satisfying answers or peace in the unknown. Music is one of my passions where I can merge my spirituality with earthly principles.

This was the day of my Graduation, the lady to my right is Cindy the only other person who graduated with the same Master degree as me.

Interests

Music

I enjoy playing the drums as my main instrument and would call myself an experienced guitar player. I would also count myself as a well-versed singer and rapper.

Cooking

One of my obvious passions is cooking, I enjoy staying in the kitchen and enjoy even more seeing happy guests with full stomachs.

Fermenting

I also enjoy the art of using bacteria and yeast for one's pleasure. During my lifetime I have fermented: Beer, wine, mead, cider, kombucha, water kefir, ginger beer, sake, sourdough, etc.

Wine and Whisky

My favourite drinks are wine and whisky both of which I like to explore and find new flavours and matches.

Building

I love making things. Similar to my fermenting hobby, I enjoy understanding different procedures and using them myself. This way I can relax by creating things. I have made a beef jerky dryer, different guitar pedals, repaired guitars and who knows what the future will bring.

Philosophy

A certainly more abstract part of myself is my mind. I like to think and embrace complicated topics with deep meaning to me. This involves more than often God and Religion. The Bible is a fundamental part of my life and I spent a lot of time trying to understand it to the fullest. 

Outdoor chef life

Languages Skills

  • English
    90%
  • Spanish
    80%
  • German
    90%
  • Swiss-german
    100%
  • French
    50%
  • Mandarin Chinese
    5%
Other experiences
2020 -
Musician and Trainee leader

Drummer at the sunday service and Trainee leader which means helping out with bible studies and others.

2019
Sous chef in a catering

Between my Master's and PhD, I worked full-time in a kitchen to finance my living costs. This included preparing dishes and catering for large groups

2013-2019
Staff member of VBG

Leader of the welcoming team and band leader.

2011-2012
Medical lance corporal

Compulsory army service for the swiss armed forces. This included training in first aid, emergency small surgical interventions, combat, shooting, etc...

2010-2019
Music leader

Coordinator of a music band for sunday services in a swiss church with Latin-american background.